Tenth cup triumph

VfL Women beat SC Freiburg 4-1 in the final in Cologne to retain their DFB Cup crown.

VfL Wolfsburg Women have done it again! The She-Wolves earned a 4-1 win over SC Freiburg in the DFB Cup final to lift the trophy for the ninth time in succession, and tenth overall. Rebecka Blomqvist (57’), Alexandra Popp (84’) and Dominique Janssen (89’) were all on the scoresheet in addition to a Freiburg own goal (4’), in front of a sold-out 44,808 crowd at the Rhein-Energie-Stadion in Cologne on Thursday afternoon.

The success means that the Green-and-Whites, led by head coach Tommy Stroot, have won at least one piece of silverware in each of the last 11 years.


  • 1-0 Karl (o.g. 4’): Lynn Wilms delivers a teasing cross from the right, which Freiburg’s goalkeeper parries into the middle, where Popp is lurking. Lisa Karl is unable to get out of the way, however, and inadvertently diverts the ball into her own net.
  • 1-1 Minge (42’): Janina Minge rises unchallenged to meet a corner and heads in the equaliser.
  • 2-1 Blomqvist (57’): Ewa Pajor’s shot from the edge of the box creates the chance for Blomqvist as the ball hits the post and rebounds into the Swedish attacker’s path. Her first effort is saved by Gabrielle Lambert but she taps in the follow-up.
  • 3-1 Popp (84’): Popp, in her inimitable style, leaps to connect with a corner and heads into the net from close range.
  • 4-1 Janssen (pen. 89’): After a Meret Felde handball, the referee gives a penalty following a VAR review. Janssen completes the scoring to make it 4-1.


Tommy Stroot: “We knew it wouldn’t be easy in the final against SC Freiburg. It’s extraordinary that we won the game 4-1 and I’m extremely proud of my team. We’ve worked hard for this success all season. Congratulations to my team.”

Line-ups and stats

VfL Wolfsburg: Frohms – Wilms (90‘+2 Wedemeyer), Hendrich, Janssen, Rauch – Oberdorf (90‘+2 Demann), Roord (81‘ Waßmuth) – Huth, Blomqvist (87‘ Brand), Jonsdottir (46‘ Pajor) – Popp

Subs: Weiß (GK), Agrez, Wolter, Bremer

SC Freiburg: Lambert – Karl, Steuerwald, Stegemann, Müller – Kayikci, Felde (90‘+2 Fellhauer), Minge – Steinert (74‘ Schasching), Hoffmann (74‘ Bouziane), Kolb (55‘ Zicai)

Subs: Adamczyk (GK), Axtmann, Vojtekova, Wensing, Xhemaili

Goals: 1-0 Karl (4‘, own goal), 1-1 Minge (42‘), 2-1 Blomqvist (57‘), 3-1 Popp (84‘), 4-1 Janssen (89‘, pen)

Yellow cards:  – / Steuerwald, Felde

Referee: Fabienne Michel (Gau-Odernheim)

Attendance: 44,808 at Rhein-Energie-Stadion, Cologne (sold out)