Pernille Harder voted best in Germany

Bundesliga top-scorer named Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Having already finished the season as top-scorer in the FLYERALARM Women’s Bundesliga and been voted Lower Saxony Footballer of the Year, Pernille Harder has now been crowned Germany’s Women’s Footballer of the Year. The VfL captain, who will play in the Champions League final against Lyon this evening (kick-off 20:00 CEST), received the most votes in the poll carried out by sports magazine ‘kicker’ among members of the Association of German Sports Journalists (VDS). She won by a clear margin from teammate and co-captain Alexandra Popp, and also Lyon’s Dzsenifer Marozsan, who had taken the award for the last three years. Harder is the first foreign player to be named Germany’s Women’s Footballer of the Year, and the third Wolfsburg player after Martina Müller in 2013 and Popp in 2014 and 2016.

“Great sign for the Bundesliga"

“I’m very proud to have been chosen by the sports journalists as Women’s Footballer of the Year in Germany,” said the Denmark international. “It’s a particularly special honour because it’s the first time a foreign player has won it. It’s also a great sign of the significance of the Women’s Bundesliga. I want to thank my teammates at VfL Wolfsburg, who played a vital role in my finishing as the league’s top-scorer for a second time.”