Cup winners again!

VfL Women beat 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam 4-0 to win the DFB Cup final.

VfL Wolfsburg Women have won the DFB Cup for an eighth successive year, and ninth time overall, after recording a 4-0 triumph over 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam in front of 17,531 fans at the RheinEnergieStadion in Cologne. Ewa Pajor struck twice, while Jill Roord and Dominique Janssen were also on target as the defending champions extended their winning run in the competition.

The Green-and-Whites’ ninth success means the club draw level with 1. FFC Frankfurt as the record winners in the DFB Cup. The trophy was presented by Germany President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, who led the prize-giving delegation.


1-0 Pajor (11th minute): Felicitas Rauch delivers a superb corner into the box, where Pajor leaps highest to steer the ball into the far corner, leaving goalkeeper Anna Wellmann no chance.

2-0 Pajor (32’): A sensational attacking move from the She-Wolves, which starts with a risky pass from Almuth Schult to Kathrin Hendrich near the goal line. The ball is worked forward quickly, with Lena Lattwein and Svenja Huth linking up to find Lynn Wilms, whose pinpoint cross picks out Pajor to find the net with another header.

3-0 Roord (42’): Potsdam defender Anna Gerhardt inadvertently redirects a right-wing cross from Pajor into the box, where it falls kindly for Roord to finish with aplomb and put her side 3-0 up at the break.

4-0 Janssen (70’): After a foul on Huth, referee Karoline Wacker awards the She-Wolves a free-kick in a promising position on the edge of the area. Janssen takes it and her effort deflects off the head of Potsdam’s Sophie Weidauer and lands in the net.

Line-ups and stats

VfL Wolfsburg: Schult – Wilms (60‘ Wedemeyer), Hendrich, Janssen, Rauch – Oberdorf (83‘ Knaak), Lattwein – Waßmuth (72‘ Jonsdottir), Roord (60‘ Popp), Huth – Pajor (83‘ Bremer)

Subs: Kiedrzynek (GK), Starke

1. FFC Turbine Potsdam: Wellmann – Gerhardt, Barth, Sissoko (82‘ Kuznezov), Agrez – Orschmann (55‘ Kerschowski), Mesjasz, K. Holmgaard (64‘ Deutsch), Plattner (64‘ Schwalm) – Weidauer, Kössler

Subs: Fischer (GK), Graf, S. Holmgaard

Goals: 1-0 Pajor (11’), 2-0 Pajor (32’), 3-0 Roord (42’), 4-0 Janssen (70’)

Referee: Karoline Wacker (Marbach am Neckar)

Attendance: 17,531 at RheinEnergieStadion

Yellow cards: Wilms, Roord, Oberdorf, Lattwein, Janssen / Kössler