First Team

Casteels named new captain

Arnold and Guilavogui chosen as the Belgian goalkeeper’s vice-captains.

The Wolves have chosen their new captain, with Koen Casteels given the armband for the Green-and-Whites for the coming season. The Belgian goalkeeper will have two vice-captains, with Maximilian Arnold and former skipper Josuha Guilavogui given that particular honour. VfL head coach Mark van Bommel informed the squad of his decision ahead of Saturday morning’s training session and also told them of the composition of the team committee, which will feature Pavao Pervan, Ridle Baku, John Anthony Brooks, Xaver Schlager and Wout Weghorst alongside Casteels, Arnold and Guilavogui.

Captain: Koen Casteels

Vice-captains: Maximilian Arnold, Josuha Guilavogui

Team committee: Koen Casteels, Maximilian Arnold, Josuha Guilavogui, Ridle Baku, John Anthony Brooks, Pavao Pervan, Xaver Schlager, Wout Weghorst