English News

Double-figure cup win

VfL Women recorded an incredible 11-0 win away to VfL Bochum to book their spot in the Round of 16 of the DFB Cup.

VfL Wolfsburg’s Women’s Bundesliga team put on a highlight-reel display in one of their favourite competitions. Having been given their now-customary bye in the first round, the She-Wolves made their DFB Cup bow in Round 2 of the competition, with head coach Stephan Lerch’s team thrashing VfL Bochum 11-0 (5-0) on Saturday afternoon.

Zsanett Jakabfi bagged four goals (1’/24’/28’/51’) and Lena Oberdorf a hat-trick (11’/67’/82’), with Karina Saevik (38’), Lena Goeßling (48’ pen.), Felicitas Rauch (61’) and Pia-Sophie Wolter (80’) also getting on the score-sheet in a one-sided contest at the Vonovia Ruhrstadion.

The Green-and-Whites will find out their next opponents in their title defence on Sunday 8 November, when the draw for the Round of 16 of the Women’s DFB Cup is made at 18.30 CET, with the matches due to be played on 5-6 December. The next FLYERALARM Women’s Bundesliga outing for the double-winners is this coming Friday, 6 November (kick-off: 19.15 CET) away to 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam.

“Put in a dominant display”

Stephan Lerch: We were able to implement a lot of what we had been working on really well out on the pitch, and gain some more self-confidence at certain positions here and there. Overall, we put in a dominant display against lower-league opposition.

VfL Bochum: Matuszek (71‘ Gutke) – Brinkert (46‘ Kilic), Meißner, Schmidt, An. Vogel – Wilhelm, Maiwald (71‘ Yaprak), Angrick, Al. Vogel (83‘ Öncü) – Dej (84‘ Hallmann), Radke

VfL Wolfsburg: Abt – Hendrich (68‘ Dickenmann), Goeßling, Janssen (61‘ Wedemeyer), Rauch (77‘ Rolfö) – Oberdorf, Engen (61‘ Cordes) – Wolter, Huth, Jakabfi, Saevik (68‘ Blässe)

Goals: 0-1 Jakabfi (1‘), 0-2 Oberdorf (11‘), 0-3 Jakabfi (24‘), 0-4 Jakabfi (28‘), 0-5 Saevik (38‘), 0-6 Goeßling (48‘, pen), 0-7 Jakabfi (51‘), 0-8 Rauch (61‘), 0-9 Oberdorf (67‘), 0-10 Wolter (80‘), 0-11 Oberdorf (82‘)

Yellow cards: An. Vogel / Abt

Referee: Laura Duske (Leverkusen)