She-Wolves win eighth DFB Cup title

Wolfsburg Women defeat Eintracht Frankfurt 1-0 in DFB Women’s Cup final.

VfL Wolfsburg Women penned another chapter in their storied DFB Cup history with a 1-0 victory over Eintracht Frankfurt in the final of the 41st edition of the competition, Ewa Pajor scoring the winner in extra time in the 118th minute. The She-Wolves’ win over their league rivals at the RheinEnergieSTADION in Cologne was the team’s eighth DFB Cup triumph overall, and an unprecedented seventh in a row.

VfL on top

Stephan Lerch’s charges were the better side from the outset and forced Frankfurt onto the back foot, but Lena Oberdorf’s shot that hit the post in the 42nd minute was the closest they came to scoring in the first half.

After the break, ‘keeper Almuth Schult reacted well to thwart Alexandra Johannsdottir (59’), but while the Green-and-Whites continued to dominate possession, they were unable to convert their chances. As such, the match went into extra time.

Schult sees red - Pajor lands killer blow

Schult was shown the red card in the 96th minute following a foul on Lara Prasnikar, and the game subsequently became an increasingly hard-fought encounter. The deadlock was finally broken in the 118th minute when Pia-Sophie Wolter and Pajor launched a counter-attack and, following a one-two with Svenja Huth, Pajor prodded the ball home from 12 yards to hand the She-Wolves their eighth cup crown and spark wild celebrations.

Die VfL Wolfsburg-Spielerin Felicitas Rauch bei der Flanke.

“We deserved to win the match”

VfL head coach Stephan Lerch: “Once again, it was a real strength-sapping encounter. It was exciting though and I think it was very entertaining as well. The red card stacked the deck against us, but the way the team dug even deeper and turned the match in our favour makes me incredibly proud. We were a player down but kept pressing forward and showed an unflinching will to win out there on the pitch. And at the end of the day, I think that we deserved to win the match.”

Eintracht Frankfurt: Frohms – Santos, Kleinherne, Störzel (95‘ Kirchberger), Küver (91‘ Hechler) – Feiersinger, Nüsken, Pawollek (40‘ Johannsdottir), Dunst (106‘ Martinez) – Prasnikar, Freigang

VfL Wolfsburg: Schult (98‘ Abt) – Wedemeyer (50‘ Blässe), Doorsoun, Janssen, Rauch – Oberdorf, Engen – Huth, Blomqvist (65‘ Wolter), Rolfö – Pajor (120‘ Jakabfi)

Goals: 0-1 Pajor (118‘)

Referee: Mirka Derlin (Bad Schwartau)

Yellow cards: Feiersinger, Kleinherne / Oberdorf

Red card: Schult (96.)

WATCH: highlights of the match

WATCH celebration after the final

Alle Spielerinnen des VfL Wolfsburg beim jubeln. Darunter die Aufschrift DFB-Pokalsiegerinnen 2020/2021.



no account?
Register now