Die Wölfinnen Rolfö und Pajor gemeinsam mit drei Spielerinnen von Olympique Lyon im Kampf um den Ball.

She-Wolves fall short

VfL Women lost 3-1 to holders Olympique Lyon in Sunday’s UWCL final.

Die Wölfinnen Rolfö und Pajor gemeinsam mit drei Spielerinnen von Olympique Lyon im Kampf um den Ball.

VfL Wolfsburg Women missed the chance to reclaim the UEFA Women’s Champions League trophy on Sunday, losing 3-1 to Olympique Lyon in the final in San Sebastian. The French club have now won the competition in each of the last five seasons - and seven times overall - while VfL’s wait for a third European title since back-to-back victories in 2013 and 2014 goes on.

Eugenie Le Sommer, Saki Kumagai and Sara Gunnarsdottir got the goals for Lyon at the Estadio de Anoeta, with Alexandra Popp netting a consolation for the She-Wolves.

The Green-and-Whites return home on Monday but have little time to recover before the start of the new FLYERALARM Women’s Bundesliga season: on Friday 4 September (kick-off 19:15 CEST), VfL welcome SGS Essen to the AOK Stadion in the opening league match of the 2020/21 season.

“Incredibly proud”

VfL head coach Stephan Lerch: “Congratulations to Lyon on retaining their title. I’m incredibly proud of our team, who fought back superbly after going 2-0 behind. In the second half in particular we played football with a lot of heart, pulled a goal back and built up a lot of pressure. It’s a real shame that we weren’t able to score another goal to force extra-time at least. There’s obviously an enormous feeling of disappointment at the moment, as we had big ambitions. Perhaps we were lacking that little bit extra at the end, and that made the difference both in defence and attack. I’m still really proud, but very disappointed at the same time.”

VfL Wolfsburg: Abt – Blässe (78‘ Bremer), Goeßling, Janssen, Doorsoun (39‘ Hendrich) – Engen, Popp – Huth (61‘ Wolter), Harder, Rolfö – Pajor (61‘ Oberdorf)

Olympique Lyon: Bouhaddi – Bronze, Buchanan, Renard, Karchaoui – Gunnarsdottir, Kumagai – Cascarino (87‘ van den Sanden) , Marozsan (87‘ Taylor) , Majri (90‘ Malard) – Le Sommer (90‘ Greenwood)

Goals: 0-1 Le Sommer (25‘), 0-2 Kumagai (44‘), 1-2 Popp (57‘), 1-3 Gunnarsdottir (88‘)

Referee: Esther Staubli (Switzerland)

Yellow cards: Huth – Marozsan

Wölfe TV: Highlights and goals



no account?
Register now